Complete newbie question....

dazzathedrummer

Hi,

I'm new to php but have an understanding of html and SQL.

I'm trying to get a simple login system working on my bands website, i've got the code working ok, I'm just wondering why the page isn't working properly in IE.

I basically followed the about.com tutorials to get the files working and then I took the websites main index.html, saved it in a test location as members.php and pasted in the php code at the top.

It works fine and displays perfectly in firefox, Chrome and Safari, but looks wrong in IE, almost as if its not using the css.

any ideas would be greatly appreciated,

the page is here

www.the-guards.org.uk/private/members

thanks,

darren

This is a css issue, not php. It's because of a floating issue.

The quickfix is to make sure you specify this for you #container div:

Change width to whatever you like - but you must specify a width for this to work.

#container{width:500px;float:none;margin: 0 auto;}

Also, do this for the #Container_bottom - you can do both at same time like this:

#container, #Container_bottom{width:500px;float:none;margin: 0 auto;}

Try it out see what it does.

Hope that helps.

Hi,

Thanks for your reply, I'm at work at the moment so I cant try it out but I will do when I get home.

Is it really just a case of specifying the width in the CSS?

I'm having trouble following the logic on that.....

- I take a html page that works fine (www.the-guards.org.uk)

- I save it down as a .php - works fine in all browsers

- I add some php code - it works fine in all browsers except IE

I'm not saying that your wrong, i'd just like to understand how that works.

thanks,

Darren

I'd hazard a guess that it may probably be due to the way the code is being interpreted. IE sometimes likes it one way, but when the code is passed to be the browser another way such as through a php server IE could flip out if everything is not set as it should be.