Integrating wysiwyg outputting numbers instead of content! newbie in need of hel

EvoDan

Wassup peeps! this looks like a great board to be a part of and i am hoping to learn a thing or two about php from here, but i have a feeling it is going to be a looong journey ;D.

I have been trying to set up a simple Content management system for a client using tinymce as the main editor form, but as i'm a total newbie and have just started learning php its proving quite difficult for me. What i have managed to do so far seems to be ok except the output on my public page echoed from my database isnt working right at all. So i was hoping somone here can take a look at my scripts and tell me whats right and wrong or point me in the direction of a tutorial that might help me.
so here is what i have so far....

I created a database with phpmyadmin called "boarhunt" and a table named "news" with two fields these are set like so..

1. id, int, (11), not null, primary key.
2.content, text, not null, default.

So it looks like this...
[img]http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/2966/dbshotdi1.jpg[/img]

For my form page i have tinymce setup with the form action set to post to postnews.php like so...
[code]<form action="postnews.php" method="post">
        <div id="elm1" style="width:450px; height:250px">

</div>
<input type="submit" value="Submit">
    </form> [/code]

There is also some javascript in the head of the page to create the wysiwyg editor in the page where the id elm1 appears.

Here is my code for the postnews.php file...

[code=php:0]<?
$username="******";
$password="******";
$database="boarhunt";
$host="localhost";

if(isset($_POST['save']))

$content=$_POST['content'];

mysql_connect($host,$username,$password);
@mysql_select_db($database) or die( "Unable to select database");

{
$query = "insert into News (id,content) values ('','$content')";
mysql_query($query) or die(mysql_error('Error Query Failed'));

echo htmlspecialchars($query);
}

mysql_close();
?> [/code]