Jump to content


Photo

Cant Show Pictures


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 a1drich

a1drich
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 7 posts

Posted 21 September 2006 - 07:00 AM

i installed joomla, apache, mysql and php. Everything is ok when i test it localhost, but when the computers on my lan tries to access it, it only shows the page and texts and basic colors but not the pictures and other css stuff. what could be the problem??

#2 akitchin

akitchin
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 2,516 posts
  • LocationCalgary, AB, Canada

Posted 21 September 2006 - 07:05 AM

my guess is that the HTML that links to photos and stylesheets are based on the local machine (ie. direct filesystem references such as C:\Pictures\pic.gif) rather than server references.  your local machine can find them, but when other members on the LAN look for them in their own computer filesystems, can't find them.

be sure your image and stylesheet links are server-based, such as 'src="../images/this.gif"'.

#3 a1drich

a1drich
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 7 posts

Posted 21 September 2006 - 07:06 AM

gonna check on that, brb :)

#4 a1drich

a1drich
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 7 posts

Posted 21 September 2006 - 07:32 AM

havent seen any problem with the codes.. hmmmmmmmmmmm.....is there anything else that could be the cause??

#5 akitchin

akitchin
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 2,516 posts
  • LocationCalgary, AB, Canada

Posted 21 September 2006 - 07:36 AM

when viewing it on other computers on the LAN:

i. are you viewing via the webserver (ie. IP), or opening the HTML file directly?
ii. what is the output for image sources and stylesheet links?

never used joomla, but i doubt that's the perpetrator.  by the way, is your name supposed to reference the chemical distributor?

#6 a1drich

a1drich
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 7 posts

Posted 21 September 2006 - 07:45 AM

yep, (ip address here)/index.php
its just on lan though.

Well. thats by battle.net name and irl name :D

#7 akitchin

akitchin
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 2,516 posts
  • LocationCalgary, AB, Canada

Posted 21 September 2006 - 07:47 AM

what sort of output do you get for the image sources from another computer on the LAN?

#8 a1drich

a1drich
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 7 posts

Posted 21 September 2006 - 07:58 AM

the small red x mark when the picture cant be shown :D

#9 akitchin

akitchin
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 2,516 posts
  • LocationCalgary, AB, Canada

Posted 21 September 2006 - 08:03 AM

i mean the actual HTML code.  check the page source.

#10 a1drich

a1drich
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 7 posts

Posted 21 September 2006 - 08:08 AM

omg, you were right the first time. Thank you!!! *worship*




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users