Help! Temporarily Banning ip adresses

Ains

Im kinda new to the art of PHP coding but im wondering how its possible to temporarily ban a ip from a site...

The Problem:
I have a site to post jobs but sometimes i get spams as theres no time limit, inbetween adding jobs and it does get annoying when i have to remove them for the mySQL database, So... i want a way to maybe stop them from adding a job for five minutes before they can do it again.

If somone could come out with a script or snippet so i can get the idea, i would be very greatful

Is this general spam or can you press the post button more than once and it enter multple posts into the database. There are a number of easier ways to stop this from happening rather than use a time method which is a bit more involved. Also consider having a user login before they can reply to these as that will eliminate all the spam in the first place unless it is a user that is doing it.

I have a script that would check the IP of the previous post and the IP of the person posting and datestamped.

If the date stamp was less than 10mins apart i would not allow them to post again.  Though it seems the people spamming my little site were a bit more patient and would wait out the 10mins.  I was thinking about increasing the 10mins to 24hrs (though this was for a guestbook).

You could also add a 'captcha' type image to stop bots from posting.

You wouldn't have that problem if you did proper validation on submitting, you are adding unnecessary complexity to the program, when you can build in the feature, with just 3-4 lines of code, instead of throwing in another whole module.  Test for the job, here for a sample

$selectjob = "SELECT * FROM jobs WHERE;";  // on the were part use something that distinguishes the jobs, like the title and description, or something you know would be a double post.
$query = mysql_query($selectjob);
if ($row = mysql_fetch_array($query)) {