#1 alpine

alpine
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 756 posts
  • LocationNorway

Posted 26 September 2006 - 05:06 PM

When i first started making my own website it was because i wanted to make an informatic website about cars and especially my favourite brand. Very few such sites existed on the web then, especially in my language, so i wanted to share the passion so to speak.

So i started learning basic html, copying and pasting javascript codes - assembling a website demanding html editing for new articles etc. *lol* , some really "hairy" appearances as i think back.

Step by step i eventually got my own domain name - started learning php (i was uncontrollable when my first php-switch worked and i got the magic advansed url in my browser), eventually mysql and now lately ajax.
Now my website application is fully home-made and have become very popular amongst other car-enthustiast such as myself here in Norway.

BUT - now it is scripting and developing web applications that is the fun part - NOT maintaining the content on my hobby site *lol* - doh.. that is boring, scripting is the fun part !!

Anyone else experienced this ?? ...it must be..

#2 .josh

.josh
  • Staff Alumni
  • .josh
  • 14,871 posts

Posted 26 September 2006 - 05:17 PM

coding does seem to have a "magic" feel to it, kinda like a magician doing all kinds of crazy hand motions and speaking wierd incantations to weave a spell that does something. At least, that's how i look at coders: the new age magicians. 
Did I help you? Feeling generous? Buy me lunch!