SQL Database, Index.php don't like each other…

pbase

I'm a real novice at dealing with PHP and SQL databases, so I'm hoping that someone more knowledgeable can give me a bit of help.

I pulled all the files from a commerce site, written mainly in PHP, from another server and transferred it to Godaddy. I created a database using their tools, and uploaded the SQL file I pulled from the old server into the new database.

But the homepage, index.php, won't come up. I'm sure something somewhere needs to be changed. What's the most likely error? I'm assuming it's some sort of conflict between the index.php file and the SQL file.

Any help would really be appreciated.

When I uploaded the SQL file I got from the other server, there was a "user not permitted" type of error as the file attempted to create it's own database under a different name.
I removed those lines, and that particular error went away.

Would it help If I were to show you the script?

Your first problem is you have a GoDaddy account. ;D;D I am not a big fan as I have almost a year left on an account that I am not using. If you script was written for PHP 5, you will have to rename your files index.php5 on that hosting service.

If you script does not have anything too sensitive or personal you can post it or email it to me as I to have access to their site and can get it to work.

Sam

pbase, what you sent me was the mysqldump. This is the information used to recreate a database onto a new server. Thanks. I am new to this stuff also and will learn a lot from this experience.  I am going to use the information you sent to go back into my unused GoDaddy account and create what you have. This will take a while but we will learn this together.