Jump to content


Photo

Version Problem Need Help...


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Luke Beale

Luke Beale
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 7 posts

Posted 28 September 2006 - 03:45 PM

Hello,

I am trying to import a .sql file from my old host to my new host but the old host is not the same version of mysql that the new host is using.

Old host mysql version: 4.1.21
New host mysql version: 4.0.27

Is there a way for me to conver the sql file from 4.1.21 to 4.0.27?

#2 wildteen88

wildteen88
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 10,482 posts
  • LocationUK, Bournemouth

Posted 28 September 2006 - 04:44 PM

The sql file should still work. Strange why your host has downgraded mysql to 4.0.27

#3 Luke Beale

Luke Beale
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 7 posts

Posted 28 September 2006 - 04:52 PM

The sql file should still work. Strange why your host has downgraded mysql to 4.0.27


No the file will not work as i am moving hosts.
So the new host has a different version of mysql from the old host and so it wont allow me to put it into the database of the new host.

Its a vbulletin backup of my forum (the sql file).

#4 wildteen88

wildteen88
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 10,482 posts
  • LocationUK, Bournemouth

Posted 28 September 2006 - 04:59 PM

Do you get any errors at all. Prehaps have a word with your host. Se if they can update MySQL or see if they can get your sql file to work.

#5 Luke Beale

Luke Beale
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 7 posts

Posted 28 September 2006 - 05:03 PM

Do you get any errors at all. Prehaps have a word with your host. Se if they can update MySQL or see if they can get your sql file to work.


I have asked them and they said they can not get it to work because of the sql file and their databases are different versions.

I use big dump to try to import the 11 meg database file & the error i got was

"You have an error in your SQL syntax. 'DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1' at line 13"

Which i think had something to do with the different database versions.

#6 fenway

fenway
  • Staff Alumni
  • MySQL Si-Fu / PHP Resident Alien
  • 16,199 posts
  • LocationToronto, ON

Posted 28 September 2006 - 06:33 PM

Use DEFAULT CHARACTER SET instead... there are a bunch of things like this.
Seriously... if people don't start reading this before posting, I'm going to consider not answering at all.

#7 Luke Beale

Luke Beale
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 7 posts

Posted 28 September 2006 - 06:34 PM

Use DEFAULT CHARACTER SET instead... there are a bunch of things like this.


Sorry i dont understand.

#8 wildteen88

wildteen88
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 10,482 posts
  • LocationUK, Bournemouth

Posted 28 September 2006 - 06:46 PM

Basically open up the .sql file into a text editor such as wordpad. if you use ntoepad it may become unstable and crash the system.

Now find any matches regarding:
DEFAULT CHARSET=latin1

and change it to DEFAULT CHARACTER SET=latin1

#9 Luke Beale

Luke Beale
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 7 posts

Posted 28 September 2006 - 07:03 PM

I did what you said and i got this error.

Error at the line 14: ) ENGINE=MyISAM AUTO_INCREMENT=4 DEFAULT CHARACTER SET=latin1;

MySQL: You have an error in your SQL syntax. Check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'DEFAULT CHARACTER SET=latin1' at line 13

#10 wildteen88

wildteen88
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 10,482 posts
  • LocationUK, Bournemouth

Posted 28 September 2006 - 07:06 PM

Try doing away with the default charset. SO remove anything matching DEFAULT CHARACTER SET=latin1

#11 Luke Beale

Luke Beale
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 7 posts

Posted 28 September 2006 - 08:26 PM

Try doing away with the default charset. SO remove anything matching DEFAULT CHARACTER SET=latin1


now im getting an error to do with one of the tables of the forum.

"Error at the line 30: INSERT INTO `vbaccess` VALUES (11, 4, 1);"

There must be a easier way of doing this or something

#12 fenway

fenway
  • Staff Alumni
  • MySQL Si-Fu / PHP Resident Alien
  • 16,199 posts
  • LocationToronto, ON

Posted 29 September 2006 - 02:51 AM

You crossed versions, there are incompatabilities... especially since the dump didn't contain complete inserts.
Seriously... if people don't start reading this before posting, I'm going to consider not answering at all.

#13 Luke Beale

Luke Beale
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 7 posts

Posted 29 September 2006 - 03:51 PM

its ok i put the tables in 1 by 1 it took me hours but it all works now.

Thanks for the help.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users