Another Newb Is Drowning - Suggestions?

counterbeing

Hi. I am relatively new to PHP. Thus far I have done a few small projects. I am currently working on one for uploading photoghaphs via POST, scaling them to size, and publishing them to a website. This tool is intended for potential clients to be able to update the photos section of their website themselves. If this is the right place, and nobody has any objections, I would like to post my project, as far as I am, and hear some suggestions to clean it up.
I currently have  a bit of a bug when I am adding an image. I have to refresh the page before it shows up. It would make sense that I placed something out of order... but I'm through editing the mysql before I have to recall it at all. I can't quite understand why it doesn't show up. Also when the database is empty it struggles and pops out errors.
I've been trying to keep it all on one page, which doesn't make it look very manageable, but it is. It connects to a mysql database to store information, such as ID (just a call number that will also be applied to the uploaded image), caption (allowing captions to be recalled later), and group (allowing images to be grouped and displayed by event or theme.
[code]
<?php
$uploadDir = getcwd()."/uploaded/";
//set up general info for re-use
$host = "localhost";
$user = "michaelp_admin";
$database = "michaelp_images";
$password = "••••••";
$link = mysql_connect( $host , $user , $password);
if (!$link) {
die('Could not connect: ' . mysql_error());
}
mysql_select_db($database) or die( "Unable to select database");
//end select connect

$table = "images";

if($_GET["del"] !== null){
unlink("$uploadDir$del.jpg");
$delSQL = "DELETE FROM $table WHERE id=$del";
mysql_query($delSQL);
}
$query = "SELECT * FROM $table";
$result1 = mysql_query($query);
$num = mysql_numrows($result1);
print "<h1>Num is the number of rows: $num<br>Result1 is: $result1</h1><br>";
$id = $num;
$file = $_FILES['userfile'];