Alpha testing my browser game

xjermx

Hi folks.

I started learning PHP about a year ago, and my "teach myself PHP project" eventually turned into something that vaguely resembles a game.

link:

http://www.dixieandtheninjas.net/hunter/

proof of ownership:

http://www.dixieandtheninjas.net/hunter/phpfreaks.txt

There is so much yet to do with it, but I'm interested in tracking down bugs, vulnerabilities, etc.

The links on the left hand banner don't work, so ignore those for the time being.  The rest is fair game.

Thanks for any feedback!

Shoutbox is susceptible to XSS attacks, it allows HTML to be entered. Just use htmlspecialchars on the messages and it should fix it.

Another thing is if you register with ' in your name it doesn't complain about it being an invalid character until the form is submitted but it dose complain with spaces so might want to add it.

Nice game though!

If you're using IE, some stuff will not work. I recommend a better browser.

LOL. Seriously though you should check your website with something else then FF4 and Chrome10 there are still people around that use FF2&3 or even older Chrome browsers. There is also Opera, and Safari. You should also make sure your website works in IE7,8&9. They still have the largest market share.

Thanks for the note about XSS attacks.  I patched that, I'll probably do the same in other places where people can enter text.

As to the swear words, I've got a 'deniednames' table, that filters both registration names and character names.  Its nowhere near exhaustive, however, and I've looked into doing preg checking or something, but that seems to create as many issues as it fixes.  Likely, I'll just plan to keep an eye out for crummy names and delete them as needed.