14 replies to this topic

#1 R1der

R1der
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 104 posts

Posted 14 October 2006 - 09:41 PM

I dont know if i am in the right place to post this.

Ok i am trying to run a cron but keep getting a error come in my inbox. i am very new to using crons.

This is the error

/home/lostcity/public_html/crons/cron24r.php: line 1: ?: No such file or directory/home/lostcity/public_html/crons/cron24r.php: line 2: syntax error near unexpected token `('/home/lostcity/public_html/crons/cron24r.php: line 2: `$db->query("UPDATE users SET uAttackTurns=uAttackTurns+2 WHERE uAttackTurns<uAttackTurnsMax AND (uType=1 OR uType=2)");

This is my code

<?
$db->query("UPDATE users SET uAttackTurns=uAttackTurns+2 WHERE uAttackTurns<uAttackTurnsMax AND (uType=1 OR uType=2)");
?>

Any ideas?

#2 AndyB

AndyB
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 5,465 posts
  • LocationToronto

Posted 14 October 2006 - 10:05 PM

Does cron24r.php actually work when run directly, rather than as a cron task?
Legend has it that reading the manual never killed anyone.
My site

#3 akitchin

akitchin
  • Staff Alumni
  • Advanced Member
  • 2,516 posts
  • LocationCalgary, AB, Canada

Posted 14 October 2006 - 10:07 PM

if you're trying to run the file directly in a CRON, you need to add this line to the top:

#!/usr/bin/php -q
<?php
// php here
?>

this tells the command line to parse the following PHP code with the php engine (as far as i know), in quiet mode which suppresses the headers.  the /usr/bin/php might need to change depending on your hosting setup.  check phpinfo() for the proper path if this doesn't work.

#4 R1der

R1der
  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • Advanced Member
  • 104 posts

Posted 14 October 2006 - 10:08 PM

yes it does.

a little more detail

i have the cronjob reading crontab.txt

crontab.txt contains the following

/home/lostcity/public_html/crons/cron24r.php

So it reads crontab.txt ok but it wont read cron24r.php

I dont understand why :(