What should a junior web developer know?

Andy-H

What level do you feel that a junior (PHP) web developer should be at before being employed?

I am currently working as a junior web developer, but before I got the job; I never thought I was good enough to get a job as a web developer, even a junior.

Most job postings require a graduate, but what level is a graduate expected to be at? I've been developing with PHP for about 6 years now (professionaly for 9 months), and I know a fair amount, but where I work, the IT department consists of 2 developers and a designer, and I can't help but feel if I had attended an interview at a "proper web dev company", I would have been turned away (at the time, now I'm unsure), but at the same time, I feel like I am underpaid for my efforts.

I just want to get an idea of "am I good enough to go elsewhere?"

i would say be able to build pages that connect and manage tables in a database. perhaps only in procedural manner.

and know where the kettle is

Well I was a labourer for 10 months before I got a job programming, and I'm definitely capable of that.

Think you could get me a job at your place? lol

Junior Webdeveloper or Senior Webdeveloper has nothing to do with "I know shit" but instead is an inidication to a possible future employer how cheap or how expensive one is. For example some companies say that you are a Junior Webdeveloper when you have less than 5 years of professional experience, Medior from 5+ years and Senior from 10 to 15+ years of experience. It makes it all nice and easy for a company who want to hire someone but don't have the money to pay a senior. So some companies only consist of Junior Webdevelopers...