Output as HTML instead of text (without mixing HTML and PHP). New lines?

ScorchPipe

Hi!

I'm new to PHP so bear with me =)

I have an assignment where I have to use PHP to get all enviromental variables and output them as HTML in the web browser. But I have to do this without mixing HTML and PHP in the same file.

Getting the enviromental variables is not a problem and I can also output them as HTML. But I can't get them to be on one line per variable.

Now I get:

name: valuename: valuename: valuename: valuename: value

and so on but I want it to be like:

name: value

Here is my HTML code:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.1//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml11/DTD/xhtml11.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml">
        <head>
                <title>
                </title>
        </head>
        <body>
                <p>
                        ---insert---
                </p>
        </body>
</html>

And here is my PHP code:

<?php

# Set text/plain instead of text/html
header('Content-type: text/html');
$html = file_get_contents("page.html");

# Function that gets and prints all enviroment variables
function loop(){
        foreach ($_SERVER as $name=>$value )
        {
                echo "$name: $value\n";
        }
}

# Prints the contents of page.html and replaces ---insert--- with number of hits
eval("print \"" . addcslashes(preg_replace("/(---(.+?)---)/" . loop() . $html), '"') . "\";");

?>

Because of

\n in the foreach loop doesn't work. It works perfect if I replace it with <br /> but thats not allowed. It also works if I set text/plain instead of text/html but to output it as HTML is a requirement.

Any idea how I can solve this? Anything is appreciated as long as it doesn't break any rules.

Echo the contents inside of <pre> tags:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="iso-8859-1"?>
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.1//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml11/DTD/xhtml11.dtd">