Site redesigned for first time in 3 years

hyphen0

Hello all and thank you in advance!

I am not a programmer, though I've built my site in all its iterations with notepad and patience.

I am not a designer, so I've tried to copy elements from other sites that "feel" good to me.

The results are a site that admittedly is not up  to par in terms of code validations and I am concerned that the feel of the site is not as professional as it needs to be.  For years I have focused on SEO, and now think that I have missed the bar in terms of the site as a sales tool.

The redesign project was undertaken after years of being dissatisfied with a 60-70% bounce rate for the /index and a comment from a friend who upon seeing the prior version said that it seemed "scammy".  (http://web.archive.org/web/20110423174522/http://pacificvideorepair.com/) (It looked a bit better than the WBM would have you believe...)

The goal of my site is to impart confidence and convey professionalism while informing the visitor.  While the site does the job in terms of receiving orders, I'm not sure I've achieved those goals as well as they could be achieved.  Portions of the site still need work in terms of transferring to the new direction, so while usable I consider it a work in progress.

Thank you very much for your time!

http://www.pacificvideorepair.com/

Overall, it seems to function well.. Slowly, but I guess it works.

My main suggestion would be to find a better color scheme.  Yellow on blue isn't that appealing and it clashes in your menu tabs.

Check out http://colourlovers.com

Select palettes from the Browse menu.

Search for palettes based upon your main color, which seems to be blue.  You can select it from the color grid or enter the hexidecimal code.

Work with that.

Looks and functions pretty good, possibly adding some borders for the content could help, is a lot of white there.