Help with either str_replace or preg_replace

Simon Lloyd

Hi all, this is my first post here AND i'm a novice so please be gentle.

I own a forum and my members can post code (much like here) but i used a modified version of CODE tags, some of my members are either new to forums or just dont use the tags, what i'd like is, via php, to check to see if my KODE tags are in place if they are do nothing, if CODE tags are in place replace them with the KODE tags, if neither KODE or Code tags are in place look for Sub anytext(parameters) where anytext can be anything (there's always a space between Sub and anytext) and parameters may or may not be present so those parenthesis could simply look like () .

When found replace Sub anytext(parameters) for [KODE]Sub anytext(parameters) then find End Sub and replace with End Sub[KODE]

The only other anomalies would be the word Sub could appear as Function

I can replace CODE tags if they exist, but cannot do the rest, so it would be great if it was all done in one go, i've heard that str_replace is quicker than preg_replace which of course would be preferrable, here's my effort at replacing the tags one way but it doesn't work.

$pattern[0] = "Sub ";
$pattern[1] = "End Sub"; 
$replace[0] = "[KODE]Sub\s";
$replace[1] = "End\sSub\[\/KODE\]";
$mystring = preg_replace($pattern, $replace, $mystring);

The spaces are intentional, but i didnt know if i should have the whitespace character \s in the patterns.

Update:

This works to a fashion, however it doesn't check if any tags already exist and doubles up, not good!

$pattern1 = "/Sub\s/"; 
$pattern2 = "/End Sub/"; 
$pattern3 = "/Function\s/"; 
$pattern4 = "/End Function/";  
$replace1 = "[KODE]Sub "; 
$replace2 = "End Sub[/KODE]"; 
$replace3 = "[KODE]Function "; 
$replace4 = "End Function[/KODE]"; 

$MyString= preg_replace($pattern1, $replace1, $post['message']); 
$MyString= preg_replace($pattern2, $replace2, $post['message']);