how to insert data into a table from a dropdown list

naihr

Hi? im just a beginner in php i just want to ask how to insert a data into a table from a dropdown list. I have concatenate the itemid and description to form the dropdown list. But when i viewed my item_table the itemid and description columns are null. can you help me with this..

this is my php code for the dropdown list...

<?php

$query = "SELECT CONCAT(itemid,' ', '-',' ', description) AS Item FROM item_table";

$result = mysql_query($query) or die(mysql_error());

$dropdown = "<SELECT CONCAT(itemid,' ' '-',' ', description) AS Item FROM item_table>";

while($row = mysql_fetch_assoc($result)) {

$dropdown .= "\r\n<option value='{$row['Item']}'>{$row['Item']}</option>";

}

$dropdown .= "\r\n</select>";

echo $dropdown;

?>

this my code for inserting data into the item_table...

<?php

if(isset($_POST ['submit']))

{

$itemid = $_POST['itemid'];

$description = $_POST['description'];

$datein  = $_POST['datein'];

$qtyin  = $_POST['qtyin'];

$unitprice  = $_POST['unitprice'];

$unit  = $_POST['unit'];

$category  = $_POST['category'];

$empid = $_POST['empid'];

$message ='';

if(($itemid && $description == "")||($itemid && $description == null))

{

header("location:IncomingEntry.php?msg=Incorrect");

exit();

}

else

{

$link = mysql_connect('localhost', 'root', '') or die(mysql_error());

$db_selected = mysql_select_db('inventory', $link);

$message='';

$query = "INSERT INTO incoming_table (itemid , description,  datein,  qtyin, unitprice, unit, category, empid) VALUES ('".$itemid."',  '".$description."', '".$datein."',  '".$qtyin."', '".$unitprice."', '".$unit."', '".$category."', '".$empid."')";

if (!mysql_query($query,$link))

{

die('Error: ' . mysql_error());

}

header("location: IncomingEntry.php?msg=1 record added");

}

}

?>

:'(

It seems you have the concepts of "SELECT" of a query and for a form input confused. This makes no sense: