OOP - Am I missing something?

PaulRyan

I've been developing with PHP for about 6-7 years now, since I was around 13-14. I've always used the procedural coding style when ever I've undertaken a project, whether it be for myself, or freelancing.

I've read up on OOP and it's advantages/disadvantages and whatnot, but I just cannot grasp how it can be used effectively.

As far as I see it, its a bunch of functions wrapped in a class, which is loosely similar to just normal PHP functions within procedural coding.

Why would someone use OOP over procedural?

I would like some individual input on this, because I would like to better my knowledge of OOP and maybes start using it for future projects of my own, till I am comfortable enough to use it for freelance work.

Just looking for your insight to the benefits of OOP, and your honest opinion on whether its worth learning and why.

Thanks in advance, Paul.

I've read up on OOP and it's advantages/disadvantages and whatnot, but I just cannot grasp how it can be used effectively.

As far as I see it, its a bunch of functions wrapped in a class, which is loosely similar to just normal PHP functions within procedural coding.

You can't have done much reading then.

Well spotted, but I'm asking for your opinions on OOP, not your opinion on my post, or my current research (or lack of).

I don't want to waste time researching something that I feel wouldn't benefit me, if someone had a few valid points as to why they use it, or prefer it, then it would lead me to look into it more.

That's because online tutorials are generally shitty and hardly ever show why OOP can be efficient and flexible.  Instead, they begin and end with syntax and canned examples like a Cat class deriving from an Animal class.