PHP Certifications?

ShoeLace1291

So, I've been developing websites with PHP as an amateur for about 5 years now, and decided that I want to do so as a career.  College really isn't for me... I've tried it a couple of times and flunked out.  My friend who is in Iraq as an IT help desk administrator for an army base suggested that I get a PHP certification from Zend and then a Zend Framework certification.  I was wondering... how much would getting this certification actually help me?  He said that PHP/MySQL programmers make $300k/year over there with those credentials, but I find that hard to believe...  although, he said he makes around $200k/year doing his IT thing without any college education.  Would it be worth it to get Zend certifications?  Are there other PHP certifications out there that are more credible?

Just goes to show how much money our government wastes.  ::) ::)

From one college dropout to another - the Zend certification is really difficult. About 1/3 of it is stuff that I have never once used or seen in (*counts in head*) about 7 or 8 years of PHP development, 5 of which I have been doing professionally. Maybe others will have seen it, my point is just that you can certainly make a good living without knowing that subset of skills that the certification emphasizes.

I do get recruiters calling/emailing every day looking for people with PHP/MySQL skills, so it's definitely in demand still, and I've only had about 10% of them even ask if I have the Zend cert. No one has cared that I don't have it.

Set up your resume on LinkedIn, add some recruiters, and you'll get calls. If after a few months you haven't gotten anywhere, you can either take community college courses on PHP, or go for the certification. I personally think the certification has little real world relevance so I wouldn't waste (any more of) my money on it.