Newbie Help - Form Validation

spacebiscuit

Hi,

I'm new to ajax and I'm having some issues, I've been hacking away for about 5 hours now and I've hit a deadend so hopefully someone here can help?

What I want to do is perform html form validation (which requires a php script to be called) when a form is submitted, if it evaluates to 'true' print an alert and stop the form from being submitted, if false the form submission can continue.

Here is what I am doing:

<script src="prototype.js"></script>

<script>

function dosubmit() {

$.ajax({ type: 'POST',

url: 'check.php',

success: function(data){

alert("Hello");

}

});

}

</script>

<form method="POST">

<p><input type="text" name="name"></p>

<p><input type="button" value="Submit" onsubmit="dosubmit()"/></p>

</form>

When I submit my form nothing happens, I get no response. Should I at least not get an alert?

Thank you in advance,

David.

Edited by spacebiscuit

Ok I have things almost working but have hit another dead end:

<form id="myform" action="index.php" onsubmit="return dosubmit(this)" >

<p><input type="text" name="captcha_code"></p>

<p><input type="Submit" value="Submit" name="submit"/></p>

</form>

function dosubmit(form) {

var captcha_code=form.captcha_code.value;

$.ajax({

type:'POST',

url:'/includes/check.php',

dataType:'json',

data: 'captcha_code=' + captcha_code,

success:function(result){

if(result==1){

alert("Wrong code input");

return false;

}

else{

return true;

}

}

});

}

So when the form is submitted check.php is executed and the result of the check is returned to 'result', which I then evaluate and the return value should then determine whether the form submission continues or not.

The input is passed successfully to the PHP page and result is successfully passed back to the ajax but the return value doesn't work - no matter what I try. I read something about async but I'm not sure what this is or if it will help.