A Little Bit Of Help With Variables

Jos

Hi, I'm completely new to coding in php. I'm stuck with this:

For a Joomla template I need to set up variables, using countModules. This is what I try to do, but I am getting nowhere:

I want to create a three column template, based on the Skeleton CSS Framework.

<div id="left" class="four columns"> <-- left sidebar

<div id="main" class="eight columns"> <-- Joomla component

<div id="right class="four columns"> <-- right sidebar

That's the basic template, with all three columns present. If one sidebar is missing, then "main" has to change from class="eight columns" into class="twelve columns". If both sidebars are missing, "main" has to change to class="sixteen columns".

I understand I have to set up variables first. I give them the value 0.

$left = 0, $right = 0, $main = 0 + ($left + $right)

Then I would use countmodules to count the modules, to get a value. Being 0 (no modules) or 1 (modules present).

If the total = 0, (no sidebars present) $main would be 0, and that should echo "sixteen" columns.

If the total is 1, (1 sidebar present) $main would be 1, giving echo "twelve" columns

If the total is 2, (2 sidebars present) $main would be 2, giving echo "eight" columns.

That's roughly how it should be, I think. But it doesn't work. Can anyone help me to get this working correctly?

Thanks,

Jos

Edited by Jos

countModules is a Joomla internal function. I don't know (yet) what an input is. I'm more into templating and general html rather than php, but working on it.

Where do I set the variables? In the top of the template, before the variables are called? Or when required, just above the Joomla countmodules?

When I echo a variable, to see if it works it echos the value I assigned to it, not what it should be.

I set the variables above the code: $left=0

Then the Joomla code:

<?php

if ($this->countModules ('left')) : ?>

<div id="left" class="four columns">