Zend Certified Engineer Certification Question

ecy5maa

Hi,

I was hoping if someone can help me out here. I am thinking of taking the ZCE certification, and would like to have some advice on whether I should take it or not. But before that let me give you a bit of a summary about me.

I am a fresh grad with no prior work experience ( I completed my masters in Computer Science 2 months back). I was looking to get into mobile app development, and even landed a job but i was let go after 8 days as they wanted a more experienced person. The country that i am in currently, Hong Kong, a lot of jobs advertised are for Php and MySql, so after getting laid off...i want to expand my options. So my questions are:

1) I asked a couple of people in the industry and they told me that ZCE is for people who have a couple of years of experience of Php. So I can try giving it, but there is a good chance I wont be able to pass. How true is this?

2) Similar to 1, A friend of mine who has given this exam told me that I can give it, but it will take a minimum two tries. How accurate is he?

3) I would rate my current Php skills at 6.5/10, With extensive study over the next 6-8 weeks can I be ready for the certification exam?

4) And if after reading all of this, you think I should go ahead with the exam, then can you suggest any good reading materials? other than what is available on the zend website.

Regards

Ecy5maa

Edited by ecy5maa

First of all if you have finished studying Computer science that means you should have a perfect knowledge of PHP at least, but of course, they teach people nothing in the universities so I guess it's no surprise.

Second of all, if you want to call yourself a programmer, do not use frameworks, so forget Zend, Yii, mend - bend, and other nonsense. Hard studying at the books and writing code all the time will make you an awesome programmer and you will have no trouble finding a job.

P.S. They fired you after 8 days?? Terrible employers!!