Connecting to MS SQL

urisk23

I am pretty new to php, and I feel like I am missing something pretty fundamental. I am trying to connect to SQL Server.

A little background: I have a wamp server that I am using personally for my own web applications. At work we use SQL Server, and my Boss wants me to explore adding a bit of web functionality to our applications. We use SQL Server at work.

I thought it would be less disruptive to the our work environment if I start by using my personal wamp server on my workstation.

So I downloaded SQLSRV30.EXE and installed the files in C:\wamp\bin\php\php5.3.10\ext.

I have added the following line to the C:\wamp\bin\php\php5.3.10\php.ini file in the Extensions section:

extension=php_sqlsrv_53_ts.dll

and restarted the server.

I have seen other web sites that tell me I should see sqlsvr in the Registered PHP Streams (in the phpinfo page). I do not. And of course the sqlsvr calls don't work.

I receive errors like: Fatal error: Call to undefined function sqlsrv_connect()

Here is at least one piece I really don't understand. In my phpinfo page the "Loaded Configuration File " reads, "C:\wamp\bin\apache\Apache2.2.21\bin\php.ini" However, this doesn't seem to be the case. I have renamed that file, and I have modified that file in various ways, and it seems to have no affect. However, when I modify the C:\wamp\bin\php\php5.3.10\php.ini, and restart the server, it clearly does have affect. For instance, I tried the nts version and when I restarted the server, it failed pretty dramatically.

jic, I put the extension line in both php.ini files.

Anyway, I feel like I am missing something pretty fundamental. Any help would be appreciated.

• 3 weeks later...
  • 3 months later...
  • 3 months later...

I'm having the same problem. I made the additions needed to the php.ini and added the "php ext" path, installed Microsoft SQL Server 2012 Native Client,