Basics learnt! Now what?!

ultigma

Hey guys, just learnt the basics of PHP but I keep asking myself, WHAT USE IS THAT?!

I want to make real applications and all that!

Soooooo, I was wondering if anyone could compile a list of video tutorials for me,

and others looking to learn php, from beginner applications to more advanced programming.

There are so many to choose from I'm not sure which one to start.

Like I said, finding everything about loops, if else statements and what variables are are easy to come by.

I'm now looking for something to sink my teeth into that will gradually get harder and harder

till I'm a fully fledged php developer =)

Additionally, if anyone has been in my position and is now an experienced programmer, which tutorials,

in order of watching, did you watch. Thanks to everyone that can help =)

Cheers

I would suggest reading these forums and trying to solve some of the problems posted. I can't tell you how many times someone posted an interesting problem that I decided I wanted to solve. In some cases I have to go out to the PHP manual to see if there are any functions I'm not familiar with that will help me - which increases my knowledge of the language. Then I'll think through the problem in my head (and sometimes on paper) to determine the logical steps to achieve the end result. Then, I'll actually build it.

Sometimes, by the time I come back to the post to add my solution I find that someone already posted a solution. But, then I review their solution to see what they did differently. Sometimes they did some things that were better than me and in others I did something better than them. But, by comparing what someone else did to get the same result as myself I learn a lot.

Great post Psycho, totally agree. I'm not a decent php developer by any means but just frequenting several forums for a few years, trying to help people solve their problems no matter how big or small, it's been quite invaluable for me.