Photo upload file size issue?

froppo

Hey there,

I've been dabbling in PHP/MySQL for quite a few years. You'll have to forgive me, most of what I have learned has been self taught and therefore my programming vocab is very limited.

That being said I've stumbled on a problem that I just can't figure out. I recently followed a tutorial that taught me how to build a fairly effective photo upload/gallery system for my website. It works just fine when dealing with photos of a small size (less than 1MB) but I keep getting an error with photos that are bigger. I have diligently searched through the code and made all the adjustments I can think of in order to allow larger photos to upload but I can't figure it out. So here is the error that I receive when attempting to upload larger photo sizes:

Warning: getimagesize() [function.getimagesize]: Filename cannot be empty in php_parsers/photo_system.php on line 94

ERROR: That image has no dimensions

OK. Now for the code. It's pretty substantial so I'll attempt to just include the relevant part. I have commented the offending 'line 94':

if (isset($_FILES["photo"]["name"]) && isset($_POST["gallery"])){
	$sql = "SELECT COUNT(id) FROM photos WHERE user='$log_username'";
	$query = mysqli_query($db_conx, $sql);
	$row = mysqli_fetch_row($query);
	if($row[0] > 1000){
		header("location: ../message.php?msg=The demo system allows only 1000 pictures total");
        exit();	
	}
	$gallery = preg_replace('#[^a-z 0-9,]#i', '', $_POST["gallery"]);
	$fileName = $_FILES["photo"]["name"];
    	$fileTmpLoc = $_FILES["photo"]["tmp_name"];
	$fileType = $_FILES["photo"]["type"];
	$fileSize = $_FILES["photo"]["size"];
	$fileErrorMsg = $_FILES["photo"]["error"];
	$kaboom = explode(".", $fileName);
	$fileExt = end($kaboom);
	$db_file_name = date("DMjGisY")."".rand(1000,9999).".".$fileExt; // WedFeb272120452013RAND.jpg
	list($width, $height) = getimagesize($fileTmpLoc); //OFFENDING LINE 94

if($width < 10 || $height < 10){