PHP Register & Login application error

cardwell164
Go to solution Solved by Ch0cu3r,

hi guys. im a newbie in this forum and im glad that i found this. anyway, i have a problem with my code. i am creating a register and login application using php. however its not passing the data properly. i have tried to echo it and still its not showing. can anybody help me on this please? any assistance would be greatly appreciated  :-*

here is my code for my init.php

<?php
session_start();

require 'database/connect.php';
require 'functions/general.php';
require 'functions/users.php';

if (logged_in() == true)
{
	$session_user_id = $_SESSION['userid'];
	$user_data = user_data($session_user_id, 'userid', 'username', 'password', 'firstname', 'lastname', 'email');
}

$errors = array();
?>

and this is my users.php which i think where lies the problem. i will just include the code of the function that creates the error.

<?php

function user_data($userid)
{
	$data = array();
	$userid = (int)$userid;

$func_num_args = func_num_args();
	$func_get_args = func_get_args();

if($func_num_args > 0)
	{
		unset($func_get_args[0]);
		$fields = '`' . implode('', $func_get_args) . '`';
		$data = mysql_fetch_assoc(mysql_query("SELECT '$fields' FROM users WHERE userid = '$userid'"));

print_r($data);

return $data;
	}
}

?>

supposedly it should print the query stored in $data however its not doing that :(

your query is failing due to a sql syntax error. the fields listed in the SELECT list should not be enclosed in single-quotes. also, your $userid value is an integer, it shouldn't be enclosed by single-quotes in the query.

so, two things -

1) you need set php's error_reporting to E_ALL and display_errors to ON in your php.ini (the best place) or in your script, to get php to help you by reporting and displaying all the errors it detects.