php curl tasks too numerous for one script

michaellunsford

A php file whose job it is to check a website and update an index will take a long time. It uses curl to go out to a webpage and ping each individual article, compare to the local database, and then timestamp anything that's changed for sorting purposes.

It works great for one or two things, but when confronted with a hundred, the curl script just can't handle all that and complete in a timely manner (although I haven't actually tried it yet).

Forking the individual curl calls is a possibility (which I've never done before), but the script also needs to be manually called from a web browser. Is there a single solution for this, or do I build the fork page for cron and a separate ajax page for the browser?

Edited by michaellunsford

I'm not sure I know enough about your system and requirements to say definitely "yea" or "nay" on that.

Here's how one of my apps works.

1. The UI page is loaded.

2. The user picks a task.

3. Pressing the control for this task activates JS that makes an AJAX call to a PHP handler.

Here's the handler, more or less:

<?php

//doit.php --- For a RESTful home page, this will call one of the *_doit.php files with appropriate GET string.

$who = $_GET['doit'];

$doitfile="doits/".$who."_doit.php";

echo "Running $doitfile\n"; //for the AJAX; this subsystem needs improved thought given to it.

include "$doitfile";

?>

The script's echo output (see above comment) is returned and JS in the UI reads this into a "status" DIV. The $doitfile follows this same logic, echoing needed information when finished which also gets returned to the status div. The $doitfiles take anywhere from a couple minutes to a day or more to run, depending on what they're doing (and to $whom).

Cron isn't involved. I've not forked anything either, but I've considered it (we currently have to run a big job or two over the weekend because there's no point in the user doing nothing for two days) ;) ;)