Newbie Questions (EASY)

BenDains

Good afternoon everyone,

I am 24 and I just started my first website (yay me, right) and I had a small question in regards to PHP. 

I am editing a Wordpress template (don't worry i've already made a child theme and copied the header.php), but I want to add (embed) an HTML form (I am using MailChimp as my newsletter & mailing service) into my header.php

I am unsure which way to go about this problem and I wanted some excellent advice from the pros (you all!).

After researching the problem I have concluded there are two ways to accomplish this (remember I am a newbie and there are probably more ways to accomplish this task, ha ha).

1. Use the PHP Command - Echo to write the code into the header.php but I feel that would be a lot of Echo commands (and it may not be because I don't know very much about PHP). 

2. Create a new function.php file that houses my "Newsletter Form" and use PHP to call that function (and now that I am typing this, it probably isn't a "function" file and its named something else) into my header.php and have it display that way. 

This is my website: www.hulkapps.com

The "Newsletter Form" should appear under the site description ("We Make College Easier").

Thank you in advance for all responses, and taking the time to read my post.

Have a great day,

Ben @ HulkApps

Edited by BenDains

PHP allows you to easily jump in and out of HTML.

<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<head>
<title>Title of the document</title>
</head>
<body>
<h1>
<?php echo 'It's ' . date(); ?>
</h1>
</body>
You can also use a heredoc in circumstances like the one you describe:

$form = <<<HERE

<form id="newsletter">
..... Form code
</form>

HERE;

echo $form;
Heredocs will even interpolate variables, so they are an excellent hybrid option. If you have pure html, then I'd drop into HTML at the point you need to include it.

There are lots of ways to do this, and several of them might even a] work, and b] make sense.