Make a class or not

fastsol

So I have this CMS that I have spent the last 5 years building and rebuilding and updating blah blah.  It's a fairly extensive piece work and I am now looking at converting the entire system over to OOP.  I am fairly new to OOP but understand the easy basics of it.  I do fight with the concept of when to make a class and when to just make a normal function.  I have many functions that I built specific to how my system works and some I suppose could be grouped into categories but then many others are just plain functions that only serve one purpose and may only be a few lines long.

I will be using the spl_autoload_register() to load the classes as needed which is obviously much easier than including all the function pages that are needed.  So for that reason I like the idea of making classes for everything but it just seems like more than is needed.  So what I am looking for is some insight as to when and how to decide if a class should be made and whether to group functions by category to limit the amount of classes OR to just leave them as normal functions.

Here is a example function for creating a thumbnail.  I would guess that I could make a class called Thumb and put this in it, but what exactly would be the benefit of that based on the syntax of the function AND could you show me how you would convert this to OOP to make it worth while putting it in a class? 

// Creates a thumbnail
function createThumb($img, $type, $dest = NULL, $xy = NULL)
{
	if($type=="admin_product")
	{
		$thumb_width = $GLOBALS['admin_thumb_width'];
		$thumb_height = $GLOBALS['admin_thumb_height'];
	}
	elseif($type=="custom")
	{

$thumb_width = ($dest !== NULL) ? $xy['x'] : (int)$_GET['width'];
		$thumb_height = ($dest !== NULL) ? $xy['y'] : (int)$_GET['height'];
	}

$src_size = getimagesize($img);

if($src_size['mime'] === 'image/jpg')
	{$src = imagecreatefromjpeg($img);}
	elseif($src_size['mime'] === 'image/jpeg')