Need Some Logic Verification

ScottLacey

Okay, so I'm pretty new to jQuery but I am pretty experienced with PHP.  I am about to begin coding a script written mostly in jQuery.  It will use AJAX to verify that an article tag a user provides exists in a database.  When a user goes to write an article on my website, my form will ask them to add keyword tags which will be used in searches.  Basically only admins will be allowed to create new tags, so this is why I check the tags first.  And also to prevent duplicates and similar tag entries in the database.

The form will have a single input that the user will use to search for a tag.  Once the user hits the enter key, it will search the database for tags that already exist.  Once the ajax is complete, a list of related tags will pop up and the user will be able to select their desired tag by either clicking the tag link in the list or by pressing enter.

This is a very crude demonstration of what my idea is.

BubcHrd.jpg

This is my flow chart.

19hJBu5.jpg

Am I missing any steps?  Have any suggestions that would make this better?

Edited by ScottLacey

Rather than create a new system you could use something like Selectize.js. Other than that, looks like you have the process down. I don't think it's necessary to alert the user if they try and re-add an already added tag, or at they very least make the alert unobtrusive so it doesn't interrupt their flow. Likewise I don't think it's necessary to alert them if they press enter with an empty text box, just ignore it and wait for some value to be entered.

An improvement on the work flow might be to load the tags as they type rather than waiting for enter to be pressed. With each key press you'd start a timer which will load the results in x milliseconds. If another key is pressed before the timer is triggered, reset the timer. Once the timer triggers, make the ajax request to load tags matching the current value of the select box.