doing the usual new to forum Hi post...

jonny512379

Hello all, i am Jon from the UK (England)

I have been using PHP for a couple of years now (and HTML/CSS for near on 20 years).

I started with procedural techniques initially, but now try to use a more OOP style which i can cope with OK.

However i am not to sure i user OOP correctly or if i am using them more just as groups of methods with a little more power than functions (to basically neaten things up, keep code out of the HTML and to save on repeating code).

I have a large project for a site that is large to start with and will constantly grow, so i'm looking to get this right first time with full OOP. (i am doing a full rebuild of this site from asp/MS-SQL to php/MySQL).

i am not sure what, if any, OOP patterns i am using. My own "way" makes sense to me, but im not sure if it follows any standard patterns or if it would be better to do...

(again i don't use any frameworks, at present they seem over complicated but that is probably due to my failings in understanding...)

Anyway i joined here to help me learn and understand, and will also help others if i am able to.

Jon

Hello Jon welcome to the forum.

Don't need a framework if can and don't mind writing all your own and it works.

In a group work environment or required by a job may be good to know it.

If ask me oop is no better than procedural and procedural is no better than oop, just a different way of thinking.

I've seen good and bad coding in both. In the end that's what matters the most.

Hello Jon welcome to the forum.

Don't need a framework if can and don't mind writing all your own and it works.

In a group work environment or required by a job may be good to know it.

If ask me oop is no better than procedural and procedural is no better than oop, just a different way of thinking.

I've seen good and bad coding in both. In the end that's what matters the most.

Thank you for your reply and the info. much appreciated!