newbee to PHP, help with setting up my php to send to a txt file

CarriesBack
Go to solution Solved by mac_gyver,

This is my code so far, I am a beginner at PHP and my professor is very vague with help. I just want to know in what order in my code should be in when setting up code from a form to send to a text file and if I am doing this correctly. Thanks in advance for any help, I just want to be able to get through this stuff without being so overly confused I make it worse :)

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0
Strict//EN"
<head>
<title>Register Bowler</title>
<meta http-equiv="content-type"
content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />

</head>
<body>

<?php

global $errorCount; 

if(!isset($_POST['Submit'])){                                                                   //

$BowlerName = validateInput(addslashes($_POST['Name']));
$BowlerAge = validateInput(addslashes($_POST['Age']));
$BowlerAverage = validateInput(addslashes($_POST['Average']));
$NewBowler = "$BowlerName, $BowlerAge, $BowlerAverage\r\n";
$BowlersFile = "bowlers.txt";

if(is__numeric($BowlerAge)) {
$BowlerAge = round($BowlerAge);
                           }
if(is_numeric($BowlerAverage)){
$BowlerAverage = round($BowlerAverage);
if (($BowlerAverage >= 0) &&
($BowlerAverage <= 300)) {
$retval = $BowlerAverage;

}
}

else
   echo "<p>You must enter your Name </p>".
    "<p>You must enter your age. </p>".
    "<p>You must enter your average(enter 0 if you don't have one)</p>"
"<p>Click your browser's Back button to return to the Bowler Registration form and fix these errors. </p>";

</body>
</html>

And this is my form code

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0
Strict//EN"
<head>
<title>Bowler Registration Form</title>
<meta http-equiv="content-type"
content="text/html; charset=iso-8859-1" />
<style = "text/css">
#body label {padding-left:2px;
margin-left: 10px;
margin-top: 55px;
display:block;
}
#body fieldset {padding-left: 20px;
margin-left: 20px;
  }
#body title {