'Incorrect date value' error message

zb4885

I am a student currently learning PHP and SQL.

We are building a PHP form and the input values need to be inserted into a MySQL database. (I am using PhpMyAdmin.)

When I load the page, I just see this error, and my teacher said he is not familiar with how to fix it!

"Database update failed.Incorrect date value: 'dateOfRelease' for column 'ReleaseDate' at row 1"

The name of the column in my database that I am trying to insert the date into is called ReleaseDate, with a data type of 'date'.

I am using the html input type 'date' in my form. The input field is named 'dateOfRelease'.

I have uploaded the code I have so far, I hope someone can help.

Thanks,

Zara

addMovieForm.php

You're trying to insert the literal string “dateOfRelease” as a date, which of course makes no sense. I assume you meant to insert $_POST['dateOfRelease'], but your code is all over the place. You start with an INSERT query referencing data that doesn't even exist at this point, then you do a bit of form validation, and then you do nothing (when the query should happen).

Could it be that you've blindly copied and pasted this stuff without really understanding the purpose?

Hi,

Thanks for your response.

I have followed quite a few different tutorials on YouTube, and people seem to have different ways of doing things, so yes.. that's probably why my code is all over the place. Sorry, I am very new to this! 

Can you suggest how to fix it?

Programming is really all about understanding the problem and not so much about producing code. So start with a basic, informal concept of what happens when; write it down if necessary. Then create a script with the basic program structure. Leave out the details and use TODO comments instead. And when that's done, you can start writing the actual code.

The concept is pretty simple in your case:

• Did we receive a POST request?