Query Failing With No Error Message (mysqli)

cfrost

I haven't been using PHP for a while now so this is my first time trying to test with mysqli. I believe I am getting connected properly as my error message does not display. This php code is on the same server as the database. I've left out the success case in this code because I know I'm failing before it and this is exactly what's on my live test page:

<?php
require('cfd.php');

$mysqli = new mysqli($dbhost, $dbuser, $dbpassword, $dbdatabase);
if ($mysqli->connecterrno) {
  echo "Failed to connect to MySQL: (" . $mysqli->connecterrno . ") " . $mysqli->connect_error;
}

$testSQL = "SELECT * FROM testTable WHERE id = 1;";

if (!$testResult = $mysqli->query($testSQL)) {
  printf("Error message: %s\n", $mysqli->error);
  exit;
}

$testResult->free();
$mysqli->close();

?>

This is showing the output "Error message:" with no error message afterwards. Is anyone seeing something I've done wrong? I've been staring at this piece of code for 2 hours and I know it's going to be something simple but not having the experience I'm also worried I could just be missing something.

*Edit* This query has been run directly on the server in a terminal and it runs successfully.

Thanks!

your connection isn't working for some reason, additionally you have misspelled the connect_error property in your connection error detection (you should actually be using exceptions to handle the connection error and all other mysqli statement errors), and you are not seeing any of the php errors that would help you because you don't have php's error_reporting set to E_ALL and display_errors set to ON (preferably in the php.ini on your development system), so all you are seeing the follow-on error of a query that appears to fail, but for which there is no connection to execute the query at all, so there's no ->error property to display.