Namespacing and PHP.

AncientTom

I have been away from php for a bit and started working with Java. Now I'm back to php and working on trying to comprehend the structure of the newly remodeled concrete5 CMS. In their original old creation, their work hinted at the use of php namespacing but wasn't really using the power of namespacing with php. I have now returned a couple of years later to 'the newly created from the ground up' concrete5 and find that their new framework is created totally with the use of namespaces. So, now I am back to Lynda.com to bring myself up to speed with the way namespacing is handled in php.

When I started learning Java it became obvious to me that at compile time, the namespace that was declared in the package became the literal path to the classes in the project. Once I saw this happening, namespacing became very clear to me how things work in Java .jar files, Since php scripts get interpreted at run time and not compiled, It looks like namespace declarations are more or less path aliases and the path tree and the namespace can be two different things. This can make things very hard to follow when an author can declare a namespace that is different than the actual path of a class when trying to follow someone else's work. For instance, in concrete5.7 I am trying to back-trace code usage and I find declarations of namespaces that do not match the file structure. While I am very impressed with the new c5, I am finding, as a result of this, that it is almost imposable to follow code when the namespace does not match the file structure.

I guess I don't have a definitive question here, but I am hoping to stimulate a discussion on this mater that I can join in on to get a better understanding as to how to approach namespaces with php.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

OOPS!