I Need help with converting mysql_escape_string() into mysqli_real_escape_string()

visitor52

Hello all! I'm not a programmer and don't know PHP - this is the only reason I'm asking you for help. Back in 2004, I acquired a script for generating dynamic php pages for users' reviews - this the only small section of my website where PHP is employed. Since then, the standard command MySQL and functions related to it, particularly mysql_escape_string(), have been deprecated, and now I must replace them with MySQLi command and its functions. I understand that solving this issue is a simple task for most of you, but it is a "mission impossible" for me having no special education and knowledge. Could you please modify the attached code snippets? Thank you for your understanding and time!  

Below are a few fragments that require modification. If something is missing and required for complete piece of code, please let me know. Also, do I have to create a special file for connecting to a database, or could I use the existing 'functions.php' file (also shown below)? 

1) To get access to Admin Area:

<?php
//if a session does not yet exist for this user, start one
session_start();

//if there is no username or password entered and the user has not already been validated, send user back to login page.
if ((empty($_POST["admin_username"]) || empty($_POST["admin_passtext"])) && empty($_SESSION['valid_user']))
{
Header("Location: index.php");
}

include ("../body_edit.php");
include ("../config.php");
include ("../functions.php");

//make sure user has been logged in.
if (empty($_SESSION['valid_user']))
{
// User not logged in, check database
//Check to see that the username and Password entered have admin access.
$sqlaccess = "SELECT username, passtext
FROM admin
WHERE username='" . mysql_escape_string($_POST['admin_username']) . "'
AND passtext = '" . mysql_escape_string($_POST['admin_passtext']) . "'
LIMIT 1
";

$resultaccess = mysql_query($sqlaccess)