Call to a member function query() on null

phreak3r

The code is a bit of a mess. I am trying to convert this procedural code to OO style. I have already done so in the dbcon/dbcon.php class, however, I am trying to get the database connected and working to retrieve information from the database. I am being given an "Call to a member function query() on null" error. Any help? I have sort of started converting the channel/channel.php class over to OO style. I am new to doing things in the object-oriented format, I have preferred procedural, but it will only make things easier in the future to start re-writing the codebase in an object oriented format. Thanks for the assistance!

Code for dbcon.php:

<?php

define('HOST', 'localhost');
	define('USERNAME', 'root');
	define('PASSWORD', '1234');
	define('DATABASE_NAME', 'soapbox');

class databaseAccess {
	//mysqli_report(MYSQLI_REPORT_ERROR | MYSQLI_REPORT_STRICT);

public $conn;

function __construct() {
		$this->connectToDatabase();
	}

// connection to database
	function connectToDatabase() {
		//mysqli::select_db(DATABASE_NAME);
		$this->conn = new mysqli(HOST, USERNAME, PASSWORD, DATABASE_NAME);
	}

/*if (!$conn) {
		die("Connection failed: " . mysqli_connect_error());
	} else {
		echo "Connection successful!";
	}

if (!mysqli_select_db($conn, $database)) {
		echo " Database not selected!";
	} else {
		echo " Database selected!";
	}*/
}
?>

Code for channel.php:

<!-- 
	TODO:
	- Move elements to separate stylesheet
-->

<?php
include('../header.php');
require('../dbcon/dbcon.php');
include('../functions.php');

isLoggedIn();

$dbcon = new databaseAccess();
$conn = $dbcon->connectToDatabase();

$sql = "SELECT avatar, bio, account_open_date, user_id from profile0 WHERE username = '". $_SESSION['username'] . "' ";
$result = $conn->query($sql);
$row = mysqli_fetch_assoc($result);

$userID = $row['user_id'];

$url = "/soapbox/";
$avatar = $row['avatar'];
$bio = $row['bio'];