Can an ORM do this?

I've never used a ORM before and have always wondered why bother.  I am definitely stronger in SQL than OOP, and it just seemed easier/better to just perform some query.

I've recently, however, been forcing myself to use entities and mappers and am starting to see the light.

Question.  Can a 3rd party ORM be used to create $obj such as shown below and then determine which records in the database need to be updated to reflect what was changed in the object?

Also, can an ORM such as Doctrine deal with recursive queries?

Lastly, I would appreciate better understanding the benefits of using an ORM.  I've read that they provide benefits such as Productivity, Application design, Code Reuse, and Application Maintainability, but I am looking for some of the specifics which allow them to meet these goals.

Thanks

$obj=Class1($stmt1->fetch(), Class2($stmt2->fetch()), Class3($stmt3->fetch()));
$obj->methodA(123);
$obj->methodBwhichSomehowUsesClass2(321);

Yes, an ORM can do it in general, but you're almost guaranteed to have to create some sort of mapper. Possibly involving direct queries. Which means you'll need a fancier ORM than just a simple table-class/column-property translator.

Yes, ORMs can typically deal with recursive queries at a basic level. I'm not entirely sure what you mean by a recursive query, though.

Like many things in software, an ORM is supposed to give you a wheel so you don't have to invent it yourself. Given comparable skills and experience, an ORM or any framework will be less efficient and effective than a custom solution, but the main selling point for frameworks is the time you'll save by using them. And apparently the majority of programmers like seeing immediate results and quick payoffs, so saving time appeals to them.

MySQL didn't support WITH RECURSIVE until 8.0 so I assume you'd have a hard time finding an ORM that supports it.