How to create a self-signed certificate with OpenSSL?

dil_bert

hello dear experts at phpfreaks i hope you are well and everything goes all right  

today i have a question regarding the creation of a SSL-Certificate.  

note: i am fairly new to the process of generating a SSL-certificate ....: Is it possible to do self signed certification a website without domain name? 
to shed a light i have gathered some information: i have read some documentations and sumarize it here - trying to find out the information that helps me to answer  the question. 

i have gathered some infos here at: https://www.openssl.org/ and at stackoverflow - see below 

OpenSSL is a robust, commercial-grade, and full-featured toolkit for the Transport Layer Security (TLS) and Secure Sockets Layer (SSL) protocols.
 It is also a general-purpose cryptography library. For more information about the team and community around the project, or to start making your own contributions, start with the community page. To get the latest news, download the source, and so on, please see the sidebar or the buttons at the top of every page. OpenSSL is licensed under an Apache-style license, which basically means that you are free to get and use it for commercial and non-commercial purposes subject to some simple license conditions.

Legalities Please remember that export/import and/or use of strong cryptography software, providing cryptography hooks, or even just communicating technical details about cryptography software is illegal in some parts of the world. 
So when you import this package to your country, re-distribute it from there or even just email technical suggestions or even source patches to the authors or other people you are strongly advised to pay close attention 
to any laws or regulations which apply to you. The authors of OpenSSL are not liable for any violations you make here. So be careful, it is your responsibility. ssl certificate without domain name