private mailbox design

jodunno

Hello to all,

I have an idea for my website but i am hoping to have some design tips from experienced members. I am not a programmer or a database designer. I am not asking for code as i am capable of coding with pseudocode guides. I am not sure how to properly implement my ideas.

here is my idea and necessary site data:

i have a member application for taxonomy (nature, meaning that i identify animals by keys or dissection and i am providing my own biological research material for all of the ranks that i have documented to date.) I ask for application login name and password, then a separate display name (i don't want your login name used anywhere on my site. it is only for application access.) The screen name can be changed (poses a problem with my idea, so i need a solution for handling the problem, which i will mention below). I want to add a mail box which is not public like an email provider. This is more like a private messaging system. I will call it post and your messages will be displayed as sticky notes with titles that are clickable to the full message/note. The only way to use this private mail system is to manually add display names that you trust to a friend list. Once a friend is added by screen name, then you can accept and send messages to this person. Some messages can be notes for your own viewing (not available to friends, thus i suppose a db column flag is appropriate, such as column named privatenote- = yes/no, 1/0 etc).

then i would like to add a "group" feature where the messages are visible in a group page/tab. The site is private but these notes are visible to all in the group like a public gathering/meeting.

then i would like to allow file uploads for sharing data. For example, a scientist may join my site and offer a research paper for download to anyone in his/her friend list.