Help with library php-chess

check-side

Hey everyone,

I'm trying to use a library called php-chess, which can be found here: https://github.com/programarivm/php-chess/

As described in the readme-File, I installed (at my local computer under /opt/lampp/htdocs/chess) it via composer with 

composer require programarivm/php-chess

Imho the installation was successful, since some composer files were created and also the directory '/opt/lampp/htdocs/chess/vendor/programarivm/php-chess', where all the files from the library are stored.

After creating the file 'index.php' (stored under /opt/lampp/htdocs/chess) I wrote the following lines:

<?php
require __DIR__ . '/vendor/autoload.php';
use Chess\Game;
$game = new Game();
$isLegalMove = $game->play('w', 'e4');
?>

I'm new to this topic, but I think I did the right thing to load the library with the require-statement in the 1st line. The other lines are copied from the readme-file from the project, because I just wanted to test it. But when loading http://localhost/chess/index.php I get an error: 

Fatal error: Uncaught Error: Class 'Chess\Game' not found in /opt/lampp/htdocs/chess/index.php:4 Stack trace: #0 {main} thrown in /opt/lampp/htdocs/chess/index.php on line 4

I don't understand what I did wrong here. I loaded the library and the other lines are copied from the author of the project, and I assume he didn't make a mistake. Where is my mistake? How can I use that library?

Thanks for your help!

(background information: by default, Composer assumes you want all the things you install to have a "minimum stability" of "stable", meaning the packages themselves are marked as being stable releases - as opposed to alpha releases, or beta releases, or "dev" releases)

To see what's going on, follow these steps:

1. Take a look at your composer.lock file to see exactly which version of programarivm/php-chess was installed. You should see it as version 1.1.3.