Need help with accessing an array within JSON that contains a dash

GalenAltaiir
Go to solution Solved by requinix,

Hi I have a json file that I called from an API into a string. But I noticed that that the name for the array was 2 words seperated with a "-", I understand that normally I'm able to access the array and print it using

$object->ArrayName[index] but what do I do if the array if the array name contains a dash? $object->Array-Name[index] 

I'm fairly new to PHP and a complete begginer with JSON so sorry if this is a bit confusing. I wrote some simple code to recreate the issue I have.

Code:

$json_string = '{"name":"Jeff","age":20,"active":true,"column-names":["title1","title2"]}';

$object = json_decode($json_string);
printf('All done! Welcome to Homepage %s',$object->"column-names"[1]);

Output:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '"column-names"' (T_CONSTANT_ENCAPSED_STRING), expecting identifier (T_STRING) or variable (T_VARIABLE) or '{' or '$' in FILE_LOCATION on line 14

Edited by GalenAltaiir

• Solution

While possible to do in object form like that, it would be easier to have json_decode give you an array instead.

$json_string = '{"name":"Jeff","age":20,"active":true,"column-names":["title1","title2"]}';

$array = json_decode($json_string, true);
printf('All done! Welcome to Homepage %s', $array["column-names"][1]);

• Thanks 1

12 hours ago, requinix said:

While possible to do in object form like that, it would be easier to have json_decode give you an array instead.

$array = json_decode($json_string, true);
printf('All done! Welcome to Homepage %s', $array["column-names"][1]);

Awesome thanks, what should I do this if the json string was formatted bit more like this -

$json_string = '{"column-names":["address1","address2","address3","postcode", ...],"rows":["address":"123, Imaginary Road", "someotherdata": dataset, ..., "postcode":"H3L L00"]}';