Trying to use bindValue to store generated ID. Saving as null in DB. Help with syntax??

riverside96

I'm new to php & I am trying to use the user input to generate an ID ie first 2 letters of last name + 4 rand number etc. 

I am unsure of where I'm making mistakes syntax wise & have been stuck with this issue for days & it's starting to look like I'm going to fail the module. Any help at all regarding this issue will be greatly appreciated. 

Screenshot (61).png

1 hour ago, riverside96 said:

... use the user input to generate an ID ie first 2 letters of last name ... 

Whilst this may be an assignment that you have been given, the principle is fundamentally wrong.  

• The unique identifier (Primary Key) of a table should never change, from the moment the record is created, right up to the moment that the record is finally destroyed
  • People change their names.  

These two aims are incompatible, which is why so many database tables have a "surrogate", numeric identifier, the values of which just goes up and up [and up] forever. 

Furthermore, using Personal Data (i.e. part of a name) to create a [visible] identifier is distinctly questionable in these days of GDPR and similar legislation. 

Please use the "Code" button ("<>") when submitting code for others to look at - your image is very difficult to read. 

Your code manipulating ':email', ':lastname', etc. (line 30) is wrong. 
You should be using the POST'ed values here, not string literals that just happen to contain the names of the parameters. 

// This ... 
$email = ':email';
// ... should be ... 
$email = $_POST['email'];

Regards, 
   Phill  W.

• Like 1

The above alteration as well as the removal of the brackets as follows fixed the problem

$stmt->bindValue(':id', $id, SQLITE3_TEXT);

instead of 

$stmt->bindValue(':id', [$id], SQLITE3_TEXT);

I am eternally grateful. I asked this question numerous places over the past few days & could not resolve the issue. 

Edited by riverside96