Need Help with PHP Function - newbie here

anand0412
Go to solution Solved by mac_gyver,

Hi all. I have no formal education in programming and learning everything through internet. Forgive me if this is too basic.

I am creating a automated document from gravity forms in wordpress. This is the example of code that works.

if ( is_array( $form_data['field'][77] ) AND  count( $form_data['field'][77] ) == 1 ) {
	$v_bop1 = ' to ' . (implode(', ', $form_data['field'][77])) . '.';	
} elseif ( is_array( $form_data['field'][77] ) AND  count( $form_data['field'][77] ) > 1 ) { 
    $v_bop1 = (implode(', ', $form_data['field'][77]));	
	$v_bop1 = 'to ' . substr_replace($v_bop1, ' and', strrpos($v_bop1, ','), 1) . ' equally.';
}

As you may have guessed, I am trying to get some data from gravity form and reformat it to suit my document. However, in order to work, I need to duplicate this code for each and every entry which seems inefficient. 

I tried to create a function using this code:-

function GetBeneficiaries ( $benfield ) {
	if ( is_array( $form_data['field'][$benfield] ) AND  count( $form_data['field'][benfield] ) == 1 ) {
	$beneficiaries = ' to ' . (implode(', ', $form_data['field'][benfield])) . '.';	
    } elseif ( is_array( $form_data['field'][benfield] ) AND  count( $form_data['field'][benfield] ) > 1 ) { 
    $beneficiaries = (implode(', ', $form_data['field'][benfield]));	
	$beneficiaries = 'to ' . substr_replace($beneficiaries, ' and', strrpos($beneficiaries, ','), 1) . ' equally.';
	echo $beneficiaries;
    }
}

I should then be able to call the function with 

GetBeneficiaries ( 77 );

However, my function is not returning any data / value. What am I doing wrong?

13 minutes ago, dodgeitorelse3 said:

First thing I see is your benfield throughout your function needs the $ in front of it.

Thank you for pointing it out. 

6 minutes ago, mac_gyver said: