Not seeing all the code

Hello everyone and Happy New Year!

I'm new to the forum and I hope someone will be able to help me out. I have been hired to make some changes to a clients website which has been done in php. When I look at the site through my browser and view source I see the code that needs to be chnaged. But when I download the file from the server and open it in Dreamweaver 8, the code is not there. I am a beginner when it comes to php so I'm not sure what is happening. I work in a mac environment. I need to know what I have to do to see all the code just like I do when I view source on the browser. Can anyone help me?

YOu cannot download PHP Code from the browser. You will have to download via FTP or from the websites control panel. PHP is pre-processed. So when you view a php file in the browser what you see is the output generated from that file when PHP processed the script. PHP scripts do not show the the actual source code (PHP code) just the generated HTML.

I'm sorry I guess I didn't clarify how I downloaded the file. I used Fetch (ftp program) to download the file. This is what I see when I open the file in Dreamweaver (this is only a piece of the entire file):

<?
/* LEFT PANEL */

echo "<div style=\"padding:4px;\">
<br / >Categories<br / ><br / >";

// category

and this is what I see when I view source (same part):

<td style="border-right:2pz solid #666666; width:160px; padding:0px;" valign="top">
<div style="padding:4px;">