How to activate a link on a website that will grab data from a database?

ger_mac74

Hi there,

I am new to php. I am designing a website that is linked to a database using php and mySQL. I have a table in my database that has 4 columns. This table contains data about history articles. One of the column names in the table is called "century". I am creating ahref links on the website I would like to link to a list different articles from differnt centuries. For example if someone clicked on a 10th century link the webpage would then communicate with the database and grab all the 10th centuries articles and list them on this page or another page. I know that a mySQL command something like this

SELECT * FROM articles WHERE century = tenth;

would list all the articles I need but I dont know if I put this command inbetween an a href or do I need to write some sort of php file? If you know what Im on about would you be able to give me an example script of whatever I need to do. Your help would be much appreciated.

Rgds.

One way is to use the $_GET method to do this.

your link might be index.php?century=tenth

on the PHP end, the variable called $_GET['century'] would be "tenth"

you can then use that variable in your mysql query:

$result=mysql_query(SELECT * FROM `articles` WHERE `century` = '".$_GET['century']."'");

Thanks v much for that. I sort of understand what you are saying but as im am very new to programming I dont know how to put this into effect. I have the html page displaying just general info at the moment. Do i use an ahref link here? I dont know how to code in php yet. Do I have a separate php file and what should it look like if I was to just list the 10th century articles in a simple html page containing just the links.

Sorry for being so green.
Rgds

you can write php in line with your html. check the $_GET variables to see what the "century" is, then run your mysql_query to capture that information.