Crypt Cookie Help!

salomon

Okay, so I got a huge problem. I'm quite new at this cookie thing so...Anyway I got a login page saving the password and username you enter as cookies right. Everything is connected to a MSQL database. I currently use following code for saving my cookies:

$password=crypt($insertpassword);
setcookie("uname", "$userid", time()+9999999999999999999999999, "/", "$HTTP_HOST", 0);
setcookie("pword", "$password", time()+9999999999999999999999999, "/", "$HTTP_HOST", 0);

This works perfectly fine for me and the password cookie is successfully crypted and saved.
BUT here comes the part I have been terribly stuck on for 2 days now: On next page I have coded so it will check if the password cookie is correct when compared to the password of the user in the database. The password saved in the database is also crypted.

Now, the thing we all know with crypt() is that it generates codes randomly, so simply checking if the cookie value for the password is exactly the same as the one in db surely won't work since they will always be different. Also, as it seems, using "if(crypt($cookie,$userspword)==$userspword" won't work either since both the passwords are already crypted.

So...how would one do if I wanted to compare the crypted password of the cookie to the crypted password in the user's row in the database?

Thank you very much in advance and for reading this.

[!--quoteo(post=352893:date=Mar 8 2006, 11:35 AM:name=salomon)--][div class=\'quotetop\']QUOTE(salomon @ Mar 8 2006, 11:35 AM) [snapback]352893[/snapback][/div][div class=\'quotemain\'][!--quotec--]I'm very dissapointed and thought this site would be much more helpful. this is like the third time I bump this topic[/quote]
.. and people here actually do have other things to do ..

If what's in the database is the same as what's in the cookie, what's the problem? If what's in the database isn't what's in the 'matching' cookie, it's never going to work.