Jump to content


Photo

PostGre Newbie, Help!


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 embj

embj
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 4 posts
  • LocationFayetteville, NC

Posted 31 May 2003 - 05:35 AM

I am new to PostGre and would like to setup phpBB on it but, whenever I try to connect it says, \"The PHP configuration on your server doesn\'t support the database type that you chose.\" How can I make it so PostGre woud work with PHP? Thanks!

#2 gizmola

gizmola
  • Administrators
  • Advanced Member
  • 4,667 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA USA

Posted 31 May 2003 - 06:18 AM

It sounds like postgresql support was not installed with your current version of php.

create a file called: phpinf.php which contains this:

[php:1:169120ff86]<?php
phpinfo();
?>[/php:1:169120ff86]

Point your browser to this file and examine the information it returns. I expect that this will provide verification that you will need to update your php installation to include postgresql support.

#3 gizmola

gizmola
  • Administrators
  • Advanced Member
  • 4,667 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA USA

Posted 31 May 2003 - 06:34 AM

There should be a pgsql section, btw.

#4 embj

embj
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 4 posts
  • LocationFayetteville, NC

Posted 31 May 2003 - 12:13 PM

No, there isn\'t anything about PostGre. There is just something about odbc and mysql.

#5 embj

embj
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 4 posts
  • LocationFayetteville, NC

Posted 02 June 2003 - 09:38 PM

Bump.

#6 gizmola

gizmola
  • Administrators
  • Advanced Member
  • 4,667 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA USA

Posted 03 June 2003 - 07:32 AM

You need to install postgresql on your box, and then recompile/configure php so it supports that. Details should be on the postgresql and php.net sites.

#7 embj

embj
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 4 posts
  • LocationFayetteville, NC

Posted 03 June 2003 - 11:59 PM

Well, I looked on postgresql.com, php.net, and I have done a Google on it and have found nothing about configuring it in php.ini. Would anybody be kind enough to find a link for me? Thanks. :D

#8 kcsat

kcsat
  • New Members
  • Pip
  • Newbie
  • 1 posts

Posted 13 April 2006 - 08:07 PM

I also couldn’t find any info to help me configure PHP to use postgre, I also tried to use MYSQL in a previous installation but my server was crashing constantly. Any help would be appreciated.

My phpinf.php file is lacking the postgre area as stated above, that’s good to know but I have no idea how to fix it.

Thanks,





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users