GD Problems

Beamer

I'm pretty new to GD, but I want to make an image that grabs a hex color code from a 'color' string and puts it in the background of an transparent image. For example, I have a transparent circle with a black border. I decide I like it to be blue so I do circle.php?color=0000ff which results in me having a blue circle with a black border. I have tried doing a script with references from PHP.net but I can't get it to work.

Does anyone here have a script or can create one to what I would like it to do?

Cheers,
- B.

modified from an example on php.net/imagefilledellipse. you'll need to change it again to suit your needs:

[code]
// break up color into its RGB parts
$color = $_GET['color'];
$r = hexdec(substr($color,0,2));
$g = hexdec(substr($color,2,2));
$b = hexdec(substr($color,4,2));

// fill the background color white
$bg = imagecolorallocate($image, 255, 255, 255);

// choose a color for the ellipse
$col_ellipse = imagecolorallocate($image, $r, $g, $b);

// draw the ellipse
imagefilledellipse($image, 200, 150, 300, 200, $col_ellipse);
[/code]

hope that helps. i've not tested it but should work or set you on your way...

Cheers
Mark

My problem is that the top isn't an image, it's a rectangle button with a bit of transparent pixels which users can choose a color for.

I believe your script is using the ellipse function which was in my example, sorry about that.

[b]EDIT: [/b]I get two errors when trying out: color=ff0000

Warning: imagecolorallocate(): supplied argument is not a valid Image resource in test.php on line 9

Warning: imagecolorallocate(): supplied argument is not a valid Image resource in test.php on line 12

[!--quoteo(post=357100:date=Mar 21 2006, 09:23 PM:name=Beamer)--][div class=\'quotetop\']QUOTE(Beamer @ Mar 21 2006, 09:23 PM) [snapback]357100[/snapback][/div][div class=\'quotemain\'][!--quotec--]
[b]EDIT: [/b]I get two errors when trying out: color=ff0000