XML file maintainer

First, this is the first PHP project of the sort I've come up with. So, I'm a noob. :-)

Ok, the basics of what this project will be:

My church uses a program to display the slides for the words to the music that uses a XML files to store the songs. Its a great system (program is called OpenSong), and we haven't run into any problems until now. See, we have several computers (four or five) that all have the program installed. We want them all to have all the song files, all the same version. We might catch a mistake in one file, and update it on one computer, but then we have to take the file to all the other computers via USB stick, and change them. The list gets very, very long after a few weeks. Not to mention the new songs we make.

So, I was wondering if I could build a PHP application that would store all the XML files, and I could make a very simple web front end to edit those files. Then, I could tell it to zip up and download all the songs (current versions), and extract those songs into the songs folder on the hard drive.

I know its possible. Just... how do I go about using it? I don't need any user authentication. Just a main page that lets you zip up and download the songs, and also has a dynamic text area with all the names of the songs, where you can select one and edit it. Or, I could have a link to another page, which generates hard links to the files, and from there I can click on them. Either way. I would also need a feature to create more songs from a blank template (with all the basic XML tags filled in already).

My idea:

<main page>

Main page lets you d/l the zip file

and links to list page

and links to create song page

</main page>

<list page>

PHP opens the song folder on the server, and generates hard links to every song file. When you click on the file, it sends you to edit page.

</list page>

<edit page>