[SOLVED] Auto expire a password. Is this possible?

tqla

Well Caesar I guess I'm a knucklehead 'cause I stored it in a formatted state. Ha ha! I can change the format back though. :) 

So, I can check the date that they first logged in and if it's been 30 days reset their password. Sounds logical, I'm just not sure how to do it. Can you give me a bit of code to set me in the right direction?

ToonMariner, where can I learn more about  mysql's date manipulation/calculation capabilities?  It sounds like I can do it your way too. Can you give me a bit of code to set me in the right direction?

Sorry for asking for code but I'm a noob trying to learn php as fast as I can. I literally go to sleep with a headache every night. Thanks!

Could always store a timestamp in a special column. Everytime someone logs in you can check that column with something like...

$last_reset = mysql_result(mysql_query('SELECT `last_reset` FROM `users` WHERE `user_id` = '.$id), 0);

if ($last_reset < time() - (86400 * 30)) {
   echo 'This user\'s password is older than 30 days.';
} else {
   echo 'The password is not 30 days old.';
}

Everytime you reset the password just update the last_reset column for the user using something like:

mysql_query('UPDATE `users` SET `user_password` = insertapassword, `last_reset` = UNIX_TIMESTAMP() WHERE `user_id` = '.$id);

Edit: On the topic of formatted dates and timestamps, I personally love timestamps, they a) take up less space, and b) are very, very easy to manipulate and display without complicated queries. [int(10)]

Edit: On the topic of formatted dates and timestamps, I personally love timestamps, they a) take up less space, and b) are very, very easy to manipulate and display without complicated queries. [int(10)]

And that was my point.

Sure, formatted dates work....but working with timestamps is such an effortless thing, and so much more flexible.