INSERT wierdness

idgcorp

Hello all, i am fairly new to php/sql and I have come up with a weird problem that I am unable to solve.

I have this php code: (password, etc all have valid values at this point)

$link = mysql_connect($hostname,$username, $password);

if (! $link) DIE ("Unable to connect to database! Please try again later.");
mysql_select_db($dbname,$link);

$FirstName = $_POST['FirstName'];
$LastName = $_POST['LastName'];
$DJName = $_POST['DJName'];
$Affiliations = $_POST['Affiliations'];
$Address = $_POST['Address'];
$Telelphone = $_POST['Telelphone'];
$Email = $_POST['Email'];
$Passwd = $_POST['Passwd'];
$Format = $_POST['Format'];
$Styles = $_POST['Styles'];
$HowHear = $_POST['HowHear'];
$Comments = $_POST['Comments'];
$PhotoURL = $_POST['PhotoURL'];
$WebSite = $_POST['WebSite'];

mysql_query("INSERT INTO MailingList (FirstName, LastName, DJName, Affiliations, Address, Telelphone, Email, Passwd, Format, Styles, HowHear, Comments, PhotoURL, WebSite, Active, VIP, Invited, Notes) VALUES ('$FirstName', '$LastName','$DJName','$Affiliations','$Address','$Telelphone','$Email','$Passwd','$Format','$Styles','$HowHear','$Comments','$PhotoURL','$WebSite',0,0,0,NULL)");
mysql_close($link);

and this produces no result in the db, however when I go to the sql engine and just use the insert line with some strings it works fine. I am stumped, please help if you can, thanks.

Here's how I would code this segment:
[code]<?php
$link = mysql_connect($hostname,$username, $password) or die('Unable to connect to database! Please try again later.');

mysql_select_db($dbname,$link);

$qtmp = array();
foreach ($_POST as $field => $val)
     if ($field != 'submit') // I'm assuming that your submit button is named "submit"
            if (trim(stripslashes($val)) != '')
                   $qtmp[] = $field . "='" . mysql_real_escape_string(trim(stripslashes($val))) . "'";

$q = 'insert into MailingList set ' . implode(', ',$qtmp);